October 15th, 2010

The Girlfriends' Cyber Circuit presents Linda Gerber!

The Girlfriends' Cyber Circuit is a web ring of YA novelists. Check these posts for the latest releases!

TRANCE

Almost everyone has wished that they could take a glimpse into the future—but what if such visions came unbidden, and they only foretold danger? Linda Gerber weaves this idea into a chilling and satisfying young adult novel with TRANCE. Perfect for fans of WAKE, Gerber’s latest paranormal thriller is a dark but addictive tale of one girl’s curse to unwillingly foresee future tragedies, and the debilitating toll that it takes on her present life--until she realizes that her unwanted power may be more of a gift than a curse.

Ashlyn Greenfield has always known when bad things are going to happen. Each time that familiar tingling at the back of her neck begins, she knows what’s to come—a trance. She’s pulled in, blindsided, an unwilling witness to a horrible upcoming event. But she’s never been able to stop the event from actually occurring—not even when the vision was of her mother’s fatal car accident. When soulful Jake enters Ashlyn’s life, she begins having trances about another car accident. And as her trances escalate, one thing becomes clear: it’s up to her to save Jake from a near-certain death.

Combining romance and suspense, Linda Gerber delivers a paranormal thriller that is unique in its ability to appeal to sci-fi and chick lit fans alike.

Jenn: Why was it important to you to write this book?

Linda: I chased a lot of what-ifs in the creation of the book. To me, telling the story is about finding the answers to all those questions.

Jenn: Where is this book set, and what does the setting mean to you?

Linda: TRANCE is set in the Midwest. I chose that location because it could be anywhere. Ashlyn could be anyone. It’s a story of something extraordinary happening to an ordinary girl. I wanted the setting to reflect the ordinary.

Jenn: My May release, ENDLESS SUMMER, is the sequel to THE BOYS NEXT DOOR, and it’s the first sequel I’ve written. How do you feel about sequels and series versus stand-alone novels as a writer, and as a reader?

Linda: As a reader, I like series if I connect with the characters and want to follow their story. I also like standalone books. Honestly, I won’t choose one over the other when deciding what to read next. Whether it’s a series or not, it depends on the individual book.

As a writer, I enjoy writing series books because I like the challenge of keeping the characters moving and growing.

Jenn: What good books have you read lately?

Linda: WINTERGIRLS by Laurie Halse-Anderson

THE THINGS THAT KEEP US HERE by Carla Buckley

CATE OF THE LOST COLONY by Lisa Klein

ONCE WAS LOST by Sarah Zarr

Jenn: When readers tell you they’ve read and loved all your books and they want recommendations for similar books to read now, what do you say?

Linda: I usually recommend The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter for readers who loved the DEATH BY BIKINI series, and Lisa McMann’s WAKE series for those who have read an ARC of TRANCE. Chances are, they’ve already read those books, and if so, I will offer a recommendation of whatever great books I just finished or am reading.

Jenn: What’s next for you?

Linda: In January, the DEATH BY BIKINI Mysteries (Death by Bikini, Death by Latte, and Death by Denim) will be released as a bind-up in trade paperback.

My next release will be my Middle Grade series, LIGHTS, CAMERA, CASSIDY, about the daughter of popular TV travel show hosts, and the trouble she manages to get into every time she goes on location with them.

For the latest on Linda's books, check out her web site at lindagerber.com!