September 20th, 2008

The Girlfriends' Cyber Circuit presents Linda Gerber!



Following on the heels of this summer’s killer YA mystery, DEATH BY BIKINI, DEATH BY LATTE (Puffin Paperback; September 18, 2008; $9.99) is a modern-day romantic mystery/suspense in the tradition of Victoria Holt and Philippa Carr.

Aphra Connolly had been living a quiet existence on her father’s secluded island resort, until Seth Mulo turns up and steals her heart. . . and provides information that leads her to find her mom in Seattle. But the reunion isn’t quite what she expected. Aphra’s mom, Natalie, doesn’t seem happy to see Aphra, and Natalie’s boyfriend, Joe, insists that Aphra go home. Even worse, Seth shows up, only to ask her to return the ring he had given her that summer. At least Natalie’s good-looking neighbor is sympathetic. But when Joe is found dead at a nearby coffee shop, Aphra discovers her whole trip to Seattle has been based on a lie. And now someone just might be trying to kill her. . .

Jenn: What would be the ideal spring break for some of your characters? The one they'd remember fondly for the rest of their lives?

Linda: Aphra and Seth's ideal spring break would be to go anywhere that they could hang out together without parents, assassins, and government agents following their every move.

Jenn: Do your characters go on any road trips? What are they looking for?

Linda: Yes, my characters hit the road, but their road trips are, um, rather spontaneous. They're looking for safety.

Jenn: Describe your worst spring break ever.

Linda: I've never had any dramatically-terrible spring breaks, but based on past travel woes, the worst one ever would be to waste time in airports due to travel delays, have the airline lose my luggage, end up in a hotel room that didn't look anything like the one pictured online, rotten weather outside, I've finished reading the one book I brought in my carry-on and the others are in my lost luggage AND there is no bookstore open nearby. That would be the worst!

Jenn: Describe your best spring break ever.

Linda: This one is easy. Our last year in Japan, my family and I went to Australia over spring break. We hit the beaches and then an Australian friend took us on a historic tour of Sydney (love Sydney!) I'd go again in a heartbeat!